Posted in North America, Travels, United States

Miscellaneous Boston

There were a few extra sites to see throughout Boston that I visited besides those in my previous posts. As OCD as I am, I didn’t find them to really fit with the theme of other Boston posts I’ve written. I’ve decided to cram them all into one post instead of several separate posts, mainly because I found them in-between other sites.

IMG_1380_sRGB
Soldiers & Sailors Monument

The Soldiers & Sailors Monument stands in Boston Common. I found it on a small hill surrounded by trees and benches. It is dedicated to the “men of Boston” (and women I also assume) who fought and died for this country.

IMG_1382_sRGB
Boston Tea Party Museum

You’ll find the Boston Tea Party Museum on Congress Street where it crosses the water. DISCLOSURE: I’ve been here twice and I’ve never taken the tour. From what I’ve overheard, it seems a little showy for me, complete with guides in period dress who encourage cheering. But that might be because the group taking the tour while I was there was made up of kids on a field trip. I will say that the gift shop is really nice. Lots of tea-themed items (i.e. mugs and actual tea), as well as general Bostonian souvenir merchandise. Exit the gift shop and walk down a ramp to get to Abigail’s Tea Room. Pay for a cup (or commemorative mug as above) and sit in the dining room for unlimited tea tastings from the selections of the day. You can also buy various pastries to pair with your tea. There are views of the water and the Children’s Museum of Boston through the windows of the dining room. If you get bored of conversation with your companion, you can play some of the table games available, many of them actual games played by people in Revolutionary times. They’re quite simple.

IMG_1384_sRGB
ye olde Union Oyster House menu

The Union Oyster House touts itself as “America’s Oldest Restaurant,” which it absolutely looks to be. Although the restaurant was established in 1826, the building itself has stood on this site since at least the 1700s. Yes, as the name implies, this restaurant does serve oysters. You can sit at the oyster bar downstairs and have them freshly shucked. But I don’t like oysters, so I sat upstairs and had regular menu food. This is the place where I first had Boston baked beans. Not exactly sure what made them “Boston,” but they tasted fine, just like any baked beans I’ve had before. See if you can make a reservation to sit in “The Kennedy Booth,” a high-backed booth dedicated to the Kennedy family who have eaten in the restaurant for years.

IMG_1385_sRGB
Site of the first public school in the New World

This faded and worn sidewalk design marks the site of the original site of the Boston Latin School, “the first public school in the New World.” If you’re not careful, you’ll miss it. I circled this block twice before I noticed the landmark. The Boston Latin school is still up and running elsewhere, but not at the original site. This landmark commemorating the original school site now sits on School Street outside of a Ruth’s Chris Steakhouse.

IMG_1386_sRGB
Harvard grounds

Not sure where you’re from, but in the States, Harvard is quite a prestigious university. And no, I did not attend this school. I wasn’t even close to having the scores to attend. Anyways, it’s a nice campus. Lots of historical buildings, which would be obvious since the university was founded in 1636, making it the oldest university in the States. While not technically in Boston, the Harvard campus is just a 20 minute train ride away in Cambridge. Again, I didn’t take a legit tour — just walked around amidst actual students. If you’re interested in a historical tour, they are offered on campus. You can book one online on the school’s website.

IMG_1282
Public Alley 101

Public Alley 101 is exactly how I imagined Sesame Street to look like in real life. Minus the muppets. It’s located in Boston’s North End neighborhood. There’s not much to see here — just a really nice brick-paved alley that I assume is residential.

One other place to check out in the North End is Theo’s Cozy Corner, just about a block or so away from the Old North Church. Theo’s Cozy Corner serves delicious breakfasts and I recommend trying it out. I’ve been there twice and have never been disappointed. PRO TIP: Theo’s Cozy Corner is small. Like, super cozy. They squeeze as many seats as fire-marshall-y possible into a room about as big as my L.A. apartment. Arrive early to get a seat and be served before the rush. Which started around 08:00 the two times I’ve been there. The North End is also full of Italian eateries — be sure to stop by one of the many bakeries and pick up a cannoli (or four).

Boston is definitely a place I would not mind visiting again in the future. I still haven’t visited TD Garden or Fenway Park. What are your favorite sites to see? Any locals who have recommendations off the beaten path?

Leave a Reply

