Posted in Food

Tripping Locally: Belly

School is picking up (and finances are winding down), so I’ve decided to try and explore locally.

After a workout session, a couple of classmates and I decided to binge on some Mexican/Asian fusion food. Enter Belly …

Yeah, it’s called Belly. I don’t know why. No matter. It’s delicious.

We found this place on a list titled “The Big Eat Oakland: 50 Things to Taste Before You Die” (linked here). This is a small restaurant with limited seating, but the staff are so friendly and do what they can to help you and your party find a seat. PRO TIP: Do not claim a table before you order. There are signs to remind you. If you fail to comply, don’t be surprised if you’re approached by a staff member with a friendly reminder.

There are a wide variety of items on the menu ranging from tacos and burritos to Korean chicken bowls and loaded fries. I creeped on other people’s tables to look at their food and everything looked delicious.

I got the Belly burrito, because you have to get the specialty of the house the first time. It’s full of steak, rice, Korean slaw, and kimchee aioli. I opted to add fries and kimchee to my burrito, just because I didn’t think there was already enough food stuffed in there (you can also add a fried egg, but I thought that was overkill). It was spicy, savory, filling, and just overall delicious. *drool*

I definitely recommend trying this place out if you’re in the area. They also offer takeout.

They also have a place called “Sweet Belly” that apparently specializes in desserts. Definitely a place I will have to check out and report back.

I’m just starting to get into this foodie thing. What are your favorite local eats?

Leave a Reply

