Posted in Food

The Anaheim Packing District

Continuation of the SoCal foodie tour — made the drive from DTLA to Orange County. Instead of turning left at the exit for Disneyland, I made a right into a nice downtown-y area of Anaheim. Park on the street and walk into what looks like an indoor market, but has much more on the inside. Read on …The Anaheim Packing District is absolutely GORGEOUS on the inside. As always, I came in on a weekday at an odd hour (about 14:00), and I found just a few other customers inside. My goal at this place was to visit The Kroft (downstairs).

IMG_1028
Hot Cheetos-Dusted Philly Cheesesteak Bao

The Kroft was running a special item at the time — the Philly Cheesesteak Bao, another Instagram find. I also happened to come on the one day of the week when they actually made them at this location.

My first impression when I opened the container? The smell. I didn’t find it pleasant. It smelled like something I cooked myself. But it’s bao, and it’s also covered with hot Cheeto dust, so I ate it anyway. I’m glad I did, because it was DELICIOUS. It honestly didn’t really taste like a Philly cheesesteak to me, but it was tasty all the same. Soft dough, wonderfully seasoned meat and bell pepper, and a little bit of what I think was nacho cheese. You don’t really taste the hot Cheeto dust.

It’s my understanding that this item was temporary, and I don’t believe it’s available from this restaurant any longer, but they have other great items on their menu. I’d definitely go back and try their fried chicken sandwich and sample their variety of poutines.

IMG_1031
Popbar

After scarfing down my bao and packing up a couple more orders to take back to the house, my eye caught a perfectly lined row of ice cream bars. I had also seen Popbar on Instagram, but I wasn’t too impressed because I thought, “It’s just ice cream.” Well, it’s actually bars of gelato, not ice cream. They’re fancy.

Because I can’t resist any form of sugar, I walked up to the counter and the friendly guy helped me pick out a flavor of gelato (dulce de leche). And then he introduced me to the toppings. Oh man. It was WAY better than I thought. FYI: You have the option of having your bar dipped or drizzled, and if you choose dipped, there’s a further option of dipping only half or the whole. The guy asked me “Dipped  or drizzled?” and I just stared at him. I was never given this option before.

You can see the result above. And if you look even closer, you can probably still see the Cheeto dust on my fingers. It was delicious (the gelato, not the Cheeto dust on my fingers). I was even able to sit outside the building in  a mini park with faux-grass turf and enjoy the sunshine. Popbar may be a total fad, but I loved it. I’d definitely try another combination the next time.

I definitely would come back to the Anaheim Packing District again, especially knowing that it’s just a short drive away from my favorite place to drain my credit card. It’s a beautiful space with lots of food and drink to choose from. Try it out if you get the chance.

2 thoughts on “The Anaheim Packing District

  1. Woah, woah, woah – hold on! Did you say CHEETOS DUSTED Philly Cheesestreak Bao? That’s insane – well, insanely good. I love finding crazy stuff like that. Too bad it isn’t on the menu anymore.

    Would you by any chance be interested in sharing some of your travel experiences? We’ve got a cool contest running at Creators.co that I think might be right up your alley. Be sure to check it out at https://creators.co/@creators/4231162! There are some pretty sweet prizes up for grabs too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

